POS system costs South Africa merchants pay range from R699 for a basic card machine to R30,000 or more for a full multi-till retail suite — but the headline hardware price is rarely the figure that defines your true monthly spend. As part of building a complete ecommerce marketing strategy in South Africa, understanding how point of sale costs compound across hardware, software subscriptions, and transaction fees is what separates operators who budget accurately from those surprised by their merchant statement every month.
South African merchants today have two fundamentally different cost structures to choose between: transaction-fee models (pay per swipe, no monthly software fee) and subscription models (fixed monthly fee, typically lower or no transaction fee). Which structure saves money depends entirely on your card turnover — and that breakeven is calculable. This post works through both models with current, verified pricing from the major SA providers, so you can make the comparison against your own numbers. Understanding card machine costs in South Africa — from the headline swipe rate to VAT treatment and settlement fees — is more complex than most provider comparison tables suggest.
Quick Answer
POS system costs in South Africa break into three components: hardware (R699–R30,000 once-off), monthly software (R0–R1,795 per terminal), and transaction fees (typically 1.95%–2.75% per card swipe, excl. VAT on some providers). For merchants processing under R50,000/month in card payments, Yoco's free Core plan and iKhokha's no-monthly-fee model are typically the lowest total-cost options. Above R100,000/month, a subscription-based POS platform that integrates with your payment processor often delivers a better effective rate. Verified figures below are SAMPLE prices as of September 2026 and can change — always confirm with the provider before signing.
Jump To
Is Your Ecommerce Marketing Keeping Up With Your In-Store Growth?
Getting your cost structure right is step one. Send us your current online and offline setup and we'll show you where the two channels are missing each other.
Talk to Us — No ObligationWhat Makes Up a POS System Budget?
Point of sale costs in South Africa break into five distinct categories, and most merchants underestimate three of them before they go live.
- Hardware — the physical device (card terminal, tablet or dedicated till), plus peripherals (receipt printer, barcode scanner, cash drawer). Paid once upfront, or bundled into a monthly rental.
- Software subscription — the monthly licence that runs your POS. Can be R0 (transaction-fee models) or up to R1,795/month for full retail management platforms.
- Transaction fees — a percentage of every card payment processed. The largest ongoing cost for most SA merchants. Rates quoted excluding VAT on some providers (notably iKhokha) and inclusive on others — read the terms, not just the headline rate.
- Setup and onboarding — configuration, data migration, staff training. Can be R0 or R5,000+ depending on complexity.
- Hidden operational costs — data SIM, thermal paper, UPS battery backup for load-shedding, annual support renewals. These add R150–R500/month that rarely appears in the "total cost" comparison.
Understanding where each rand lands across these categories — rather than comparing headline transaction rates — is the only way to make an honest total-cost comparison between SA POS providers.
The most common budgeting mistake: comparing transaction rates from different providers without checking whether they're stated including or excluding VAT. iKhokha explicitly states its rates exclude VAT (so the effective cost is the rate × 1.15). Check whether your other shortlisted providers state the same before building your comparison.
Hardware: What You'll Pay Upfront
Hardware costs in South Africa cover the widest range of any POS component, from a free tap-to-pay app on your existing phone to a R30,000 multi-till hospitality suite — and the right choice depends on your retail environment, not your vendor's recommendation.
| Hardware Option | Cost (SAMPLE, Sep 2026) | Best For |
|---|---|---|
| Tap on Phone (app-based, no device purchase) | R0 | Mobile vendors, pop-ups, market traders |
| Entry-level card machine (iKhokha iK Flyer Lite, Yoco handheld) | R699 | Single-operator small retail or services |
| Mid-range card machine (iKhokha iK Flyer) | R1,499 | Busier retail, built-in SIM, faster processing |
| Counter POS bundle (Yoco Counter Bundle — was R4,999) | R2,999 | Fixed-counter retail with integrated till screen |
| Complete single-terminal bundle (tablet or PC, receipt printer, barcode scanner, cash drawer) | R3,350–R14,995 | Standard single-till retail setup |
| Full hospitality/multi-till suite | R10,000–R30,000 | Restaurants, franchise retail, multi-station venues |
If you already own a compatible tablet or laptop, your hardware cost can be close to zero — several SA POS apps (including Shopify POS Lite and MangoPOS) run on existing iOS, Android, or Windows devices.
For load-shedding resilience, budget R2,500–R4,000 for a UPS battery backup if your POS runs on mains power. Cloud-based systems with offline mode (including Yoco and iKhokha) continue processing locally during outages and sync when connectivity returns. A tablet or phone-based setup handles load-shedding with its built-in battery — an underappreciated practical advantage.
Monthly Software Fees — Two Models Compared
POS system pricing in South Africa splits cleanly into two models: transaction-fee models that charge nothing monthly (recovering cost through the swipe fee) and subscription models that charge a fixed monthly fee regardless of volume.
| Provider | Monthly Fee (SAMPLE, Sep 2026) | Model | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yoco Core | R0 | Transaction-fee | Low-volume or seasonal traders |
| Yoco Plus | R249/location | Transaction-fee (lower rates) | High-volume — see breakeven below |
| Yoco Pro | R499/location | Transaction-fee (lowest rates) | R200k+/month, custom negotiation |
| iKhokha | R0 | Transaction-fee (device owned) | Merchants who want no lock-in |
| MangoPOS | R0 + R299 once-off setup | Transaction-fee (from 0.5%) | Hospitality, complex menus |
| BigPlus Starter | R795/month | Subscription | Single-store retail, full POS features |
| BigPlus Standard | R1,555/month | Subscription | Growing retailers with reporting needs |
| BigPlus Advanced | R1,795/month | Subscription | Multi-location or high-feature requirement |
All BigPlus prices exclude VAT. The subscription model typically pairs with your bank's card machine (at lower negotiated processing rates) rather than bundling payment processing — so the true monthly cost is subscription fee plus your bank's transaction fee structure, not a single blended rate.
For merchants already using Shopify as their ecommerce platform, the Shopify POS Pro add-on unlocks full omnichannel features (buy online, pick up in store; cross-location inventory; unified customer profiles). It's priced at $89/month per location — approximately R1,461/month at the SADCI index assumption of R16.42/USD (August 2026). Note that Shopify Payments is not available in South Africa, which affects how card processing integrates — see the Shopify POS South Africa guide for the full integration picture before committing to this path.
Transaction Fees: The Cost That Never Stops
Transaction fees are the largest ongoing POS cost for most South African merchants, and unlike a monthly subscription, they scale directly with your revenue — making them both the most significant and the hardest to estimate at the planning stage.
| Provider | Rate (in-person, local card) | Volume Tier | VAT Treatment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yoco Core | 2.30% | Up to R50k/month | Not specified on pricing page |
| Yoco Core | 1.35% | R50k–R200k/month | Not specified on pricing page |
| Yoco Plus | 2.10% | Up to R50k/month | Not specified on pricing page |
| Yoco Plus | 1.25% | R50k–R200k/month | Not specified on pricing page |
| Yoco Pro | 1.95% | Up to R50k/month | Not specified on pricing page |
| Yoco Pro | 1.20% | R50k–R200k/month | Not specified on pricing page |
| iKhokha | 2.75% | 0–R40k/month avg. | Excluding VAT |
| iKhokha | 2.65% | R40k–R60k/month avg. | Excluding VAT |
| iKhokha | 2.55% | R60k–R80k/month avg. | Excluding VAT |
| iKhokha | 2.50% | R80k–R100k/month avg. | Excluding VAT |
iKhokha reviews rates monthly against your 3-month rolling average, with new rates applying from the 10th of the following month. Credit and international card rates are higher across all providers. iKhokha also charges R2.50 per settlement batch and an optional R75/month for a built-in Dual SIM.
For online payments, the SA payment gateway fees comparison covers processing costs across PayFast, Peach Payments, and Ozow in detail — the in-person and online rate structures are different enough to evaluate separately.
POS System Costs South Africa: What the Total Actually Comes To
Running the numbers on a specific volume shows why the model choice matters far more than the headline rate. Here is the breakeven calculation for Yoco's Core vs. Plus plan — the most common upgrade decision SA merchants face.
Inputs from Yoco's published pricing (verified Sep 2026):
- Core: R0/month + 2.30% (first R50k) + 1.35% (R50k–R200k)
- Plus: R249/month + 2.10% (first R50k) + 1.25% (R50k–R200k)
For monthly card turnover between R50k and R200k, Plus only wins once its lower rate in each tier has saved more than its R249 monthly fee. Because the rate gap between the two plans is small — 2.30% vs 2.10% on the first R50k, and 1.35% vs 1.25% above it — that saving only catches up with the fee at the very top of the R50k–R200k band.
Conclusion: Yoco Plus only saves money over Yoco Core when monthly card turnover is close to the R200,000 ceiling of the tier. Below that, the free Core plan has a lower total cost every month. Custom rates apply above R200k — at which point negotiating directly is the right move regardless of plan tier.
The same logic applies when comparing transaction-fee models against subscription platforms. A BigPlus Starter subscription at R795/month (excl. VAT) represents a fixed overhead that needs to be recovered through lower processing fees. For that to work, your bank's card machine rate must be meaningfully below the transaction-fee model you are replacing — and that differential, multiplied by your actual monthly card volume, must exceed the subscription cost. The calculation is simple; it just requires your real monthly turnover number, not a vendor's assumed volume.
| Business Size | Monthly Card Turnover | Recommended Model | Indicative Year 1 Total Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Market stall / mobile service | Under R40k | Tap on Phone or entry card machine + Core/iKhokha | R699 device + swipe fees at 2.30% (Yoco Core) or 2.75% excl. VAT (iKhokha) on your monthly volume (SAMPLE) |
| Single-till small retailer | R40k–R100k | Entry card machine + transaction-fee POS | R3,350–R14,995 hardware bundle plus swipe fees at your volume (SAMPLE) |
| Growing retailer / multi-line | R100k–R200k | Full POS bundle + compare subscription vs. transaction-fee at your volume | Compare models at your actual volume — see breakeven calc above (SAMPLE) |
| Restaurant / venue | R50k–R200k+ | Hospitality POS suite — quote required | R30,000+ Year 1 — hardware and fees vary widely (SAMPLE) |
Hidden costs to budget for: Data SIM R99–R150/month; thermal paper rolls R50–R100/month; UPS battery backup R2,500–R4,000 once-off; annual software support renewal R1,200–R3,600. Added up, these components add a material extra line to the POS system costs South Africa merchants budget for in Year 1 — estimate them separately and don't let the hardware or software headline absorb them.
POS Costs by Business Type
Point of sale requirements — and therefore costs — differ significantly between retail, hospitality, and omnichannel ecommerce merchants. The right system for a café is wrong for a clothing boutique running both online and physical sales.
Choosing the right point of sale system in South Africa ultimately comes down to your specific revenue model, daily transaction volume, and whether you need your in-person data to connect with an ecommerce platform. For any multi-location operation, add R295/month (BigPlus) or volume-based custom pricing to your model for each additional till — peripheral costs replicate across every station. The POS system costs South Africa merchants are quoted for one location often look very different at three.
Not Sure Whether Your POS Fits Your Growth Plans?
Tell us your monthly volumes and which platforms you're running. We'll give you a straight read on whether your current stack fits where you're heading — no obligation.
Get Our AssessmentWhy South African Ecommerce Businesses Choose Growth Pulse Media
Growth Pulse Media was built on the experience of running and scaling a South African ecommerce business before founding the agency. That background means the advice isn't theoretical: it comes from someone who has paid merchant fees, managed payment gateway integrations, and worked through the real trade-offs between platform cost and margin.
The team works with a limited number of clients at any one time to maintain senior attention on every account. No work is delegated to juniors. If you're evaluating your ecommerce marketing strategy in South Africa alongside your technology stack costs, that operator perspective is what shapes the recommendations — named SA platforms, realistic Rand-denominated budgets, and integrations that have actually been tested rather than theorised.
GPM is a registered Shopify Partner and Omnisend Certified Partner. For merchants navigating the Shopify POS and payment gateway questions specific to the SA market, the practical knowledge is in-house, not outsourced. You can also review SA ecommerce platform options to understand where POS fits in the broader platform decision.
Who This Is NOT For
Want a Full Review of Your Ecommerce Marketing Stack?
We'll look at your POS integration, analytics, and marketing channels together and give you a clear picture of what's holding back revenue. Practical, SA-specific, no obligation.
Request a Stack AuditFrequently Asked Questions
How much does a POS system cost in South Africa per month?
Monthly POS costs in South Africa range from R0 (transaction-fee models like Yoco Core and iKhokha) to R1,795 or more for full subscription-based retail management platforms. The "free" models recover their cost through transaction fees — typically 1.95%–2.75% per in-person card payment, so at R50,000/month in card sales the swipe fees alone run to four figures every month. All figures are SAMPLE prices as of September 2026 — verify with the provider.
Is Yoco the cheapest POS option for South African small businesses?
Yoco's Core plan (R0/month) is among the lowest total-cost options for merchants processing under R50,000/month in card payments. However, iKhokha's no-monthly-fee model with a once-off device purchase offers a comparable structure and may suit merchants who prefer device ownership. The "cheapest" option depends on your actual card turnover — run the calculation at your monthly volume using both providers' published rates before deciding. Verify current pricing directly with each provider, as rates change.
Can I use a POS system offline during load-shedding in South Africa?
Most modern SA card machines (including Yoco and iKhokha devices) operate on built-in batteries and process transactions locally when connectivity drops, syncing when the connection restores. Cloud-based POS software also typically includes offline mode. For mains-powered desktop terminals, a UPS battery backup (R2,500–R4,000) is the practical solution. App-based POS on a tablet or phone handles load-shedding naturally with its built-in battery — a real operational advantage in the SA context.
What is the difference between a card machine and a POS system?
A card machine (or card terminal) processes payment for a single transaction. A POS system is broader: it manages the full transaction, inventory, customer records, reporting, and often connects to your ecommerce store or accounting software. Many SA merchants start with a card machine and later add POS software as they grow. Providers like Yoco and iKhokha offer both the payment hardware and a bundled POS app, while others (BigPlus, MangoPOS) are software platforms you pair with your own payment processing arrangement.
Do I need a POS system that integrates with my online store in South Africa?
If you sell both online and in person, yes — a unified system prevents stock discrepancies, duplicated customer records, and split reporting. For Shopify merchants, Shopify POS (Lite free, Pro at $89/month per location) is the most direct integration path, though Shopify Payments is not available in SA, which affects how in-store card processing is configured. For WooCommerce or other platforms, check whether your POS provider has a native integration or whether you'll need middleware — that integration cost is a real factor in the total price of ownership.
Ready to Build an Ecommerce Marketing Strategy Around Real SA Numbers?
Growth Pulse Media works with South African ecommerce merchants who want their marketing investment to compound — not disappear into platforms that don't communicate with each other. We work across Shopify, Klaviyo, Omnisend, and the SA payment and POS ecosystem. All work executed in-house, senior attention on every account, no obligation to start.
Get in Touch — We'll Respond Within 24 Hours

