A free CRM is a customer relationship management tool whose vendor lets you run it at no charge indefinitely, in exchange for hard caps on users, records or features.
For a South African SME the useful question is therefore which cap you will hit first and what it costs to cross it, which is what this post works out. If you have not yet decided what a CRM should do for your business, start with the CRM software buying guide for South Africa.
Searching for free CRM software in South Africa mostly returns global roundups, so the five free tiers below were read from each vendor's own pricing page in October 2026. Limits change, so treat every number as a dated snapshot and re-check the page before you commit. The pricing pages we read quote US dollars by default, and for a Rand-earning business the exchange rate is a cost in its own right.
Quick Answer
The best free CRM for a South African SME is the one whose cap you will not hit in the next twelve months. On the vendors' own pages in October 2026, HubSpot's free plan allows 2 users and 1,000 contacts, Zoho CRM's free edition allows 3 users, Capsule allows 2 users and 250 contacts, Bigin allows a single user and 500 records, and Bitrix24 lists 1 to 2 users with 5 GB of storage. Pick on the limit that binds first, and price the upgrade in Rand before you import a single contact.
Jump to
Not sure how many contacts you will really have in a year?
Send us your lead sources and monthly enquiry volume and we will show you which free tier cap you are likely to reach first.
Request a lead volume reviewBest Free CRM for South African SMEs: Five Free Tiers Compared
In this free CRM comparison, the five plans run from a single user with 500 records (Bigin) to three users (Zoho CRM), and the table lists only limits each vendor publishes on its own pricing page, with nothing taken from roundups. Where a page did not state a limit, such as Zoho CRM's record cap, the table leaves it out.
| Tool | Free-tier limits (vendor page, Oct 2026) | Held back for paid plans | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| HubSpot | 2 users, 1,000 contacts, no time limit; 2,000 email sends a month with HubSpot branding; 1 automated action in email automation | Sequences, advanced automation, removing HubSpot branding, email domain authentication | A founder plus one colleague who want pipeline, email tracking and form builders in one place |
| Zoho CRM | 3 users; standard reports; workflow automation; up to 10 custom email templates; data import/export free 10 times; API access of 5,000 calls a day | Email integration, built-in calling, multiple sales pipelines | A three-person team that needs automation and API access more than a polished inbox |
| Bigin by Zoho | 1 user, 500 records, 1 pipeline, 3 automations, built-in phone | Additional users; the paid Express plan is the first step up | A solo owner-operator tracking a short list of deals |
| Capsule | 2 users, 250 contacts, 5 custom fields, 1 sales pipeline, Gmail and Outlook mail connection | Contacts beyond 250 and users beyond 2, which need a paid plan | A very small service business with a short client list |
| Bitrix24 | 1 to 2 users, 5 GB storage, basic CRM (deals, contacts), 1 pipeline | Unlimited leads and invoicing, which the vendor lists from its Standard plan | A team that wants tasks, chat and a basic pipeline in one workspace |
The sources are HubSpot's pricing page, Zoho CRM's pricing page, Bigin's pricing page, Capsule's pricing page and Bitrix24's pricing page. Pipedrive is absent because we did not verify its plans this run, so we make no claim about a free plan there; our HubSpot vs Pipedrive comparison covers that paid-side choice.
Takeaway: Read the Cap, Not the Headline
Every free tier in this comparison is limited by users, records or features, and the limits are different on each. A free plan that covers three users but offers one pipeline suits a different business from one that covers one user with 500 records, so compare caps against your own headcount and contact list rather than comparing brand names.
Which Limit Will You Hit First?
The binding limit of a free tier is whichever of users, contacts, pipelines or automation your business outgrows first, and for most SMEs it is users or pipelines long before it is contacts. Count your own users, contacts and processes first, because those three numbers decide the shortlist.
Users bind first when more than two people touch a lead. HubSpot and Capsule stop at 2 users, Bigin at 1, and Zoho CRM at 3. A sales person plus an owner plus a bookkeeper who needs to see deal status is already three seats.
Contacts bind first for businesses that import an old list. Capsule's 250 contacts and Bigin's 500 records are small numbers if you load a customer database from a spreadsheet; HubSpot's 1,000 contacts is the highest cap published among the three that state one. Zoho CRM's and Bitrix24's pages did not state a contact or record limit for their free plans, so confirm that directly before you rely on them.
Pipelines bind first when you sell more than one thing. Zoho CRM's free edition excludes multiple sales pipelines, and Bigin, Capsule and Bitrix24 each list one pipeline. If you run a retail sales process and a separate project process through the same system, a single pipeline forces you to cram them together. Our post on CRM for small business in South Africa covers how to map a sales process before you choose.
Automation binds when follow-up is the whole point. HubSpot's free plan allows 1 automated action in email automation, Bigin allows 3 automations, and Zoho CRM's free edition includes workflow automation without a stated count on its page. At those counts a free tier supports reminders and simple follow-up rather than a full nurture sequence.
Exit risk: the import and export cap
Zoho CRM's free edition lists data import and export as free 10 times. That is enough for a clean start, but it is a limit to remember if you plan to move data in and out repeatedly while you tidy a list. If you may switch tools later, read our CRM data migration guide first and keep your master list somewhere you control.
Losing track of leads in WhatsApp chats and email threads?
Send us how enquiries reach your business today and we will show you where leads go missing before they ever reach a CRM.
Get a lead flow assessmentWhat Does It Cost in Rand to Outgrow a Free Tier?
Outgrowing a free tier costs a per-seat monthly fee quoted in US dollars, so the Rand cost depends on the exchange rate and on whether you pay monthly or annually. The calculation below uses the R16.42 per US dollar assumption from the SA Digital Cost Index (SADCI) for August 2026, which is the index's calculation assumption and not a live rate. Use today's rate for a real budget.
Two entry prices are published on pages we read. HubSpot's Sales Hub Starter is $7 per seat per month billed annually or $20 per seat per month billed monthly. Bigin's Express plan is $7 per user per month billed yearly or $9 billed monthly.
| Scenario | Inputs | Monthly cost at R16.42/USD | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| One HubSpot Starter seat, billed annually | $7 × R16.42 | about R115 | Cheapest route off the free tier |
| One HubSpot Starter seat, billed monthly | $20 × R16.42 | about R328 | Costs almost three times the annual price per seat |
| Five HubSpot Starter seats, billed annually | 5 × $7 = $35; $35 × R16.42 | about R575 | A sensible small-team budget if you can commit for a year |
| Five HubSpot Starter seats, billed monthly | 5 × $20 = $100; $100 × R16.42 | R1,642 | Flexibility costs about R1,067 more each month |
| One Bigin Express user, billed yearly | $7 × R16.42 | about R115 | Fits a solo operator who has passed 500 records |
| One Bigin Express user, billed monthly | $9 × R16.42 | about R148 | A small premium for no annual commitment |
The gap between annual and monthly billing is the largest number in the table: for five HubSpot seats it is R1,642 minus about R575, roughly R1,067 a month. A free CRM therefore stays cheap only if you decide the billing term before the day you hit the cap, not the day you are forced to pay.
Currency is the second hidden cost. The HubSpot, Zoho CRM and Bigin pages we read show US dollars by default, and some also offer other foreign currencies, but none listed the Rand as a billing currency. Your monthly Rand cost will therefore move with the exchange rate. Check the VAT treatment on your first invoice with your accountant. For a wider view of what paid plans cost, see our post on CRM software pricing in South Africa.
Takeaway: Decide the Billing Term Before You Hit the Cap
Moving from a free tier to a paid seat costs a per-seat fee quoted in US dollars, so the exchange rate and the billing term both set the Rand bill. At the R16.42 index assumption, five HubSpot Starter seats cost about R575 a month on annual billing against R1,642 on monthly billing.
Does a Free Plan Change Your POPIA Duties?
A free plan does not reduce your duties under the Protection of Personal Information Act (POPIA), because you stay the responsible party for every contact you load whether or not you pay the vendor. What a free plan adds is a decision to make before you load data: read the vendor's own terms and hosting statement for the plan you choose.
The hosting question is the practical one. HubSpot's data-centres page lists the European Union, Canada, Australia and the United States, and its own page, as we read it in October 2026, says there is no data centre in Africa. Section 72(1) of POPIA allows a transfer of personal information to a third party in a foreign country where, among other grounds, the recipient is subject to a law, binding corporate rules or a binding agreement giving adequate protection, or the data subject consents (section 72 of POPIA).
So hosting abroad is not forbidden by that section alone, but you need to know which ground you rely on, and it is sensible to tell the people whose data you hold where it goes. Ask your attorney how the Act's notification duties apply to you.
We have not stated hosting locations for Zoho, Bigin, Capsule or Bitrix24 because we could not confirm them from a vendor page this run. Look up each vendor's own statement, date your note and ask your attorney how a transfer ground applies to cloud hosting. Our post on CRM security and POPIA turns the Act into a checklist.
A Five-Question Test for Choosing a Tool
The five-question test turns each vendor's published limits into questions about your own users, contacts, processes, automation and billing, so the shortlist follows from your numbers. Answer these before you create an account:
- How many people will need to log in within twelve months? Compare that to the user cap: 1 for Bigin, 2 for HubSpot and Capsule, 3 for Zoho CRM.
- How many contacts will you load on day one, and how many will you add each month? Compare that to 250, 500 or 1,000.
- Do you run more than one sales process? If so, a single-pipeline tier will not hold them.
- Do you need automated follow-up or only reminders? One automated action or three is a reminder system, not a nurture engine.
- Can you absorb a US dollar fee billed to a card, and do you know your billing term? Use the table above to price it.
A free CRM for small business use works best when the answers are modest. If your honest answers are a single user, a short list and one process, a spreadsheet may do as well as any of these. Our CRM vs spreadsheet comparison sets out when a spreadsheet stops being enough. Zoho sells both a full CRM and Bigin, and we compare them in Zoho CRM vs Bigin.
Comparing a free tier with a paid plan for your team?
Send us your headcount, lead volume and current tools and we will audit which option fits the next twelve months.
Book a free auditWhy South African Businesses Choose Growth Pulse Media
Dirk van Greuning built and scaled a large South African ecommerce business before founding Growth Pulse Media in Johannesburg, so the advice here is written from the operator's side of the invoice. Our work sits on the acquisition and measurement side, across Google Ads, Meta Ads and GA4, and our digital strategy work decides which lead sources are worth feeding into any system you choose. All work is executed in-house, with a limited client load so senior attention stays on your account.
Who This Is Not For
This post is not for every reader comparing free tools, and three groups should look elsewhere.
Teams of five or more. Every free tier above caps users at three or fewer. If your whole sales team needs to log in, price a paid plan from day one using the Rand table.
Businesses with regulated client data. Financial advisors, medical practices and similar bodies carry duties beyond the general POPIA points here. Take advice before choosing any system, free or paid.
Anyone wanting a vendor ranking by features. This post compares published limits, not feature depth, and it does not test any tool hands-on. Trial your shortlist before committing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a truly free CRM for South African small businesses?
Yes, several vendors publish free plans with no time limit, including HubSpot, Zoho CRM, Bigin, Capsule and Bitrix24. They are free of subscription fees but capped on users, records or features, and the pricing pages we read quote upgrades in US dollars by default. Read the cap on the vendor's page before importing data.
Which free CRM allows the most users?
Of the five tools compared here, Zoho CRM's free edition has the highest published user cap, at 3 users. HubSpot and Capsule allow 2, Bitrix24 lists 1 to 2, and Bigin allows 1. Check the vendor page again before you commit, because plans change.
How many contacts can I store on a free CRM?
It depends on the tool. HubSpot's free plan allows 1,000 contacts, Bigin's allows 500 records and Capsule's allows 250 contacts. Zoho CRM's pricing page did not state a record limit for the free edition, so confirm it with the vendor.
What does it cost in Rand when I outgrow a free CRM?
At the SA Digital Cost Index assumption of R16.42 per US dollar, a HubSpot Starter seat billed annually at $7 is about R115 a month, and the same seat billed monthly at $20 is about R328. Five seats on annual billing come to about R575 a month, against R1,642 on monthly billing. Use the live rate for a real budget.
Do I need to worry about POPIA when using a free CRM?
Yes, because you remain the responsible party for every contact you load, whether the plan is free or paid. If the vendor stores data outside South Africa, section 72 allows the transfer only where a listed ground applies, such as adequate legal protection for the recipient or the person's consent. HubSpot's own data-centres page, as we read it in October 2026, lists no African data centre, so record the ground you rely on and tell the people whose data you hold where it goes.
Choose a free CRM that will still fit in twelve months
We will review your headcount, lead sources and tools against the published limits, and show you where the cap and the Rand cost will fall. We work across Google Ads, Meta Ads and GA4. No obligation — we'll get back to you within 24 hours.
Talk to Growth Pulse Media

